Skip navigation

Once upon a time I bought a used workstation from work for 50 bucks. I didn’t want to spend twice the cost of the computer for a legit copy of Windows 7, so I tested out a few Linux distributions on it. I tried Fedora and loved the default Gnome 3 interface, which I found simple, clean, and productive, but discovered that hardly anything worked out of the box. I tried Ubuntu and almost everything worked out of the box, but the Unity interface drove me batty (the Unity bar shows on both screens of a dual monitor setup, with no easy way to disable! Amateurs.) For me the perfect solution was to put Gnome 3 on Ubuntu and now I couldn’t be happier. The workstation has become my main computer. Here are the instructions I followed, they are for Ubuntu 12.04, but work for 12.10 as well:

http://www.filiwiese.com/installing-gnome-on-ubuntu-12-04-precise-pangolin/. (Thanks Fili for that post, you the man.)

I also went to https://extensions.gnome.org/ and installed the “Alternative Status Menu” extension (to make it so you don’t have to press Alt to see the Suspend option) and the “Remove Accessibility” extension (because I don’t need the Accessibility features).

One Comment

    • filiwiese
    • Posted February 17, 2013 at 2:56 PM
    • Permalink

    I am glad that you found my post useful. I have also been working on Ubuntu with Gnome as my primary work station for several years now and I am loving it 🙂


Leave a Reply

