Skip navigation

Once upon a time. Anyway, I have my Windows Media Center set up to look for videos on a network share on my main PC to populate My Videos. Recently, I decided I wanted to be able to delete videos on the main PC using the Windows Media Center remote. It’s just easier that way. If I watch a video and decide that it’s a waste of space, I can delete it from the comfort of my couch. I used to be concerned about accidentally deleting things, and so I never worried that this didn’t work. I reconsidered because of three factors: laziness, the fact that Media Center has a confirm delete dialog anyway, and rapidly diminishing hard drive space on the main PC.

As it stood, when I tried to delete a video in My Videos with the remote I received the message “COULD NOT DELETE FILE”, with the sub heading “Media Center was unable to delete [file name here].” I knew that this had to be a permissions issue, so I started playing around and eventually fixed it.

Here’s how to fix the problem. This solution assumes that the user that runs Media Center on the Media Center PC also exists on the sharing PC and has the same password, if any. It also assumes that the Media Center user has full control of the share on the sharing computer (“Permissions” on the Sharing tab in Properties of the shared folder). And the instructions are for Windows XP, but Vista is very similar.

  1. On the sharing PC, in Windows Explorer, right click the shared folder you want to be able to delete from.
  2. Choose Sharing and Security.
  3. Click on the Security tab.
  4. If your Media Center user is not in the list, click Add and use the dialog box to add the user.
  5. Click Advanced near the bottom.
  6. Select your Media Center user and click Edit.
  7. Make sure that Apply Onto has “This folder, subfolders and files” selected.
  8. Check “Delete Subfolders and Files” and “Delete” in the Allow column.
  9. Click OK, OK, OK.
  10. You should now also be able to delete videos from My Videos from the comfort of your couch.

 

And they all lived happily ever after. ZZZZZZZZ

Leave a Reply

