Skip navigation

Once upon a time, Microsoft Word was driving me crazy. I, like a large portion of the population, must use this unfortunate program almost daily. Why unfortunate? Because sadly, this is the best document software out there, and it’s pretty bad. The latest version, Microsoft Word 2007, is no exception. The new ribbon style layout of buttons and features is better, but the time spent learning the new format practically erases any potential gains in productivity.

My latest issue with Word is that it somehow reset my tab indents. I use a lot of outline formatting and bulleting in my documents, and I am used to being able to hit tab to increase the indent of my points, to make them sub-points, or shift+tab to do the opposite. Somehow this got turned off, so that when I hit tab, Word just inserted a regular tab. By “somehow”, I mean Word did it. I know that Word did it, because I’m the only one that uses my computer, and I’ve never even been to the options menu where you turn this feature on and off. On to the solution.

If Word 2007 has turned off your ablity to hit tab to indent:

  1. Click on the circular Office button in the upper left corner of Word.
  2. Choose “Word Options”.
  3. Click “Proofing” from the menu on the left.
  4. Choose “AutoCorrect Options”.
  5. Select the “AutoFormat As You Type” tab.
  6. Find “Set left- and first-indent with tabs and backspaces” and make sure it’s checked.

 

So now, with that fixed, I won’t have to go to the insane asylum, and I can live happily ever after for now. ZZZZZZZ

Source: Tab indentation no longer works

One Comment

    • Chris
    • Posted May 11, 2011 at 1:28 PM
    • Permalink

    THANK. YOU.

    I found this paged by googling “word 2007 tabs DRIVING ME CRAZY”

    Your solution worked and saved me future headaches (too bad it can’t get rid of the ones this PoS software has already caused!)


Leave a Reply

