Skip navigation

Once upon a time I wanted to put Windows 7 on my laptop, mostly because I hate answering my wife’s questions about Vista when she uses it. I want her to skip Vista entirely. Putting Windows 7 on and getting the laptop fully functional isn’t an easy task, because Sony makes a tightly integrated piece of equipment. All of the little buttons and gizmos are based on 32-bit Vista drivers. But, with a weekend’s worth of time to kill, I googled and experimented a bunch and got it working. Many thanks to the people who wrote the tutorials and tools this article is based on (see Sources links at the bottom). These instructions are specific to the VGN-CR231E, but it should be similar for other CRs and maybe even other VAIO laptop series that run Vista.

  1. Use VAIO Recovery Center in Vista to create VAIO Recovery DVDs if you don’t already have them.
  2. Boot from your Windows 7 RC x86 DVD (32-bit version) and install Windows 7 on your laptop, leaving the recovery partition alone (click the “Drive options” button when the installer asks you where to install to see all partition options).
  3. Once Windows 7 is up and running, use Windows Update to get all important updates, and any optional updates for drivers (most likely for Display and Wireless Network devices).
  4. Download and install Uniextract.
  5. Download these Sony drivers from the Sony support website (or the most recent drivers, if any):
    • Audio:
      1. Realtek High Definition Audio Driver (REDAUD-12959400-US.EXE)
    • Camera:
      1. Sony Visual Communication Camera VGP-VCC6 Driver (RIDCAM-13052600-US.EXE)
    • Memory Card Reader/Writer:
      1. Texas Instruments PCIxx12 Integrated FlashMedia Controller (TIDMSC-13254300-US.EXE)
    • Motherboard:
      1. Intel Chipset Device Software (INDOTH-13563700-US.EXE)
    • Notebook Control and Utilities:
      1. Sony Notebook Utilities (SOAOTH-41700000-US.EXE)
    • System Components:
      1. Sony Shared Library (SOASSL-13410200-US.EXE)
      2. Sony Firmware Extension Parser (SODSNC-10416100-US.EXE)
    • Touchpad:
      1. Synaptics PS/2 Port TouchPad (SPDOTH-12804200-US.EXE)
  6. Use Uniextract to get the setup files from each Sony download (Right click on the files and choose “Uniextract files”).
  7. Install in this order from the folders Uniextract created, rebooting if prompted:
    • Sony Shared Library:
      1. Run [Sony Shared Library]\TEMPEXEFOLDER\setup.exe
    • Setting Utility Series:
      1. Run [Sony Notebook Utilities]\TEMPEXEFOLDER\SUS\setup.exe
    • VAIO Control Center:
      1. Run [Sony Notebook Utilities]\TEMPEXEFOLDER\VCC\setup.exe
    • Intel Chipset Device Software:
      1. Set Compatiblity Mode to Vista for [Intel Chipset Device Software]\TEMPEXEFOLDER\Setup.exe
      2. Run setup.exe
    • Realtek High Definition Audio Driver:
      1. Set Compatiblity Mode to Vista for [Realtek High Definition Audio Driver]\TEMPEXEFOLDER\Setup.exe
      2. Run Setup.exe
    • Synaptics PS/2 Port TouchPad:
      1. Find PS/2 Touchpad in Device Manager
      2. Update driver using [Synaptics PS2 Port TouchPad]\TEMPEXEFOLDER\
    • Texas Instruments PCIxx12 Integrated FlashMedia Controller:
      1. Find Mass Storage Controller in Device Manager
      2. Update driver using [Texas Instruments PCIxx12 Integrated FlashMedia Controller]\TEMPEXEFOLDER\
    • Sony Visual Communication Camera VGP-VCC6 Driver:
      1. Find USB Video Device in Device Manager
      2. Update driver using [Sony Visual Communication Camera VGP-VCC6 Driver]\TEMPEXEFOLDER\
    • VAIO Event Service:
      1. Run [Sony Notebook Utilities]\TEMPEXEFOLDER\VES\setup.exe
    • Sony Firmware Extension Parser:
      1. Find Unknown Device in Device Manager
      2. Update driver using [Sony Firmware Extension Parser]\TEMPEXEFOLDER\
    • VAIO Power Management:
      1. Run [Sony Notebook Utilities]\TEMPEXEFOLDER\VPM\setup.exe
  8. Download and install mod2wim.zip (read Mod2Wim.txt inside the zip file for installation and usage instructions).
  9. Download and install 7-Zip.
  10. Use Mod2Wim.bat to extract WIM files from the VAIO Recovery DVDs (NOTE: be careful not to reboot while a VAIO Recovery DVD is in your drive; it can make your hard drive unbootable and cause you to have to do a repair from the Window 7 DVD to fix the problem.)
  11. Use 7-Zip to extract setup files from WIM files.
  12. Install from the extracted WIM/setup files:
    • InstantON:
      1. Run [InstantON]\1\MOD-InstantON 2.0.exe
    • VAIO Camera Capture Utility:
      1. Use Uniextract on [VAIO Camera Capture Utility]\1\MOD-VAIO_Camera_Capture_Utility.exe
      2. Set Compatiblity Mode to Vista for [VAIO Camera Capture Utility]\1\MOD-VAIO_Camera_Capture_Utility\VCCU\setup.exe
      3. Run setup.exe
      4. Run VAIO Camera Capture Utility update from Sony website
    • (optional) Roxio Easy Media Creator:
      1. Run [Roxio Easy Media Creator]\1\JP_20070611000000000000000000038\setup.exe
    • (optional) WinDVD:
      1. Use Uniextract on [WinDVD]\1\MOD-WinDVD.exe
      2. Set Compatiblity Mode to Vista for [WinDVD]\1\MOD-WinDVD\WDVD\setup.exe
      3. Run setup.exe
      4. Run WinDVD update from Sony website

Hopefully that does the trick.

Sources: VAIO FW Clean Windows 7 Install Guide, Clean Vista install using Extracted Recovery Image ( On a Vaio CS or Others)

UPDATE: These instructions also work for the RTM version of Windows 7.

UPDATE: Windows Update now has the Windows 7 driver for the Sony Firmware Extension Parser, so that step is unnecessary.

32 Comments

    • Desperate
    • Posted July 27, 2009 at 8:13 AM
    • Permalink

    Thanks dude. My sister Natalie and I have been trying to get this thing to work all night. You must be hot.

    • rotwhiler
    • Posted August 13, 2009 at 5:13 PM
    • Permalink

    For anyone out there keeping tabs, it’s been two and a half weeks since i did the install, and still no glitches. Windows 7 seems to be very solid on this model.

    • chan chiho
    • Posted August 19, 2009 at 12:36 AM
    • Permalink

    hi, i have the win 7 rtm installed on my sony tz vgn-tz47cn, had to install the drivers from the sony canada site, however, i did not follow any order to install the drivers, just went random, . after installation of all the drivers, all the function buttons work, however, you will have to update the biometeric driver/software, after that is done, that all is in the good.

    • rotwhiler
    • Posted August 22, 2009 at 8:31 PM
    • Permalink

    Thanks chan chiho, it’s good to know that the order is not that important, and that it works on the TZ series.

    • hejjr
    • Posted August 28, 2009 at 2:01 PM
    • Permalink

    This is most excellent! Thank you very much for taking the time to post these steps. They work great!

    • Yuji
    • Posted October 27, 2009 at 5:07 PM
    • Permalink

    Thank you man! You are a genius!

    • Toni
    • Posted November 9, 2009 at 8:12 AM
    • Permalink

    Man, I don’t know how to thank you!!! My Vaio Utilities didn’t work neither with 7, neither with Vista. Then I found your post.. and God bless you and the people that had come to this decision!
    I have just one thing to ask: I don’t have a recovery CD, and I can’t make the VAIO Camera Capture Utility working. Is it possible to give me this files from your CD, so I can complete the installation?
    10x for million again!

    • john
    • Posted November 21, 2009 at 5:14 AM
    • Permalink

    will this work with windows 7 professional 64bit version?

    • rotwhiler
    • Posted November 21, 2009 at 11:57 AM
    • Permalink

    john, you can put Windows 7 64bit on your VAIO laptop, but Sony probably won’t have any 64bit drivers for you. That means that you won’t be able to get all devices working, like the webcam or all the buttons. I contacted Sony and they basically told me that they will never release Windows 7 drivers (32bit or 64bit) for my model, and that my only hope is that Microsoft, the device manufacturer, or a third party eventually does.

    • john
    • Posted November 22, 2009 at 4:33 AM
    • Permalink

    Did you get AV mode to work? Mine doesn’t but everything else works just fine.

    • rotwhiler
    • Posted November 24, 2009 at 3:05 PM
    • Permalink

    john, if you’re talking about the embedded Instant Mode, yes, I did get that to work. But if you’re talking about the fancy Sony menu that pops up when you hit the AV Mode button, I didn’t even bother to install that, I never used it.

    • Anonymous
    • Posted December 20, 2009 at 7:06 AM
    • Permalink

    fix thnks

    • Jared
    • Posted January 6, 2010 at 8:59 PM
    • Permalink

    Like Toni above me, I didn’t create the Vaio recovery CDs before installing Windows 7. Is there any way I can do this whole process without them, or some way I can find a substitute for them?

    • rotwhiler
    • Posted January 9, 2010 at 6:07 PM
    • Permalink

    Jared, I have read that it is possible to extract the original files from the recovery partition. Did you wipe out the recovery partition when you installed Windows 7?

    • Kai
    • Posted January 18, 2010 at 6:14 PM
    • Permalink

    Great job ! Sony support failed totally and until now I thought I wouldn’t be able to use my integrated camera and the memory card reader.
    Thanks a lot !

  1. Hello there,
    I installed Windows7 64 bit on my Sony Vaio VGN-FZ290 which was previously running on Windows Vista 32 bit. It seems there are big troubles related to drivers. My inbuilt functions key are not working. The most irritating problem is now The inbuilty Motion Eye Camera is not workin at all..

    In the device manager under Imaging Devices its installed as USB Video Device. I tried browsing and find similar problems. The sony europe site has some trouble shooting but it did not work. Evry time I uninstall and restart to install the downloaded driver, however, it always shows the same USB video driver. Wheni tried manually by selecting file, it always shows the message – the best driver is already installed. Please help me..I dont knwo what to do..

    • rotwhiler
    • Posted January 25, 2010 at 1:10 AM
    • Permalink

    Hey Suman, Sony told me that they won’t be releasing 64bit drivers for my VAIO model. It’s probably the same case for your model. I had to install the 32bit version of Windows 7 to get all the peripherals working.

  2. oh thats not the funny thing..lets hope microsoft may do that soon.. Ya Sony is doing something like give birth to child and let them struggle on their own.. esp for older models..
    thanks man for updating…

    • Axel
    • Posted February 3, 2010 at 8:58 PM
    • Permalink

    I need driver utility web cam, my web cam works very good!, but i need USE THE BUTTON CAPTURE!!! WHERE CAN I FIND?

    I NEED USE BUTTON fn + F5,F6,F7, F10,&F12

    MY VAIO IS VGN-CR260F

    I HAD WINDOWS VISTA HOME PREMIUM 32 BIT AND NOW I HAVE WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 64 BIT, ALL WHAT I NEED IS FOR 64 BIT !!! PLEASE HELP!!!!

    • CHAN CHIHO
    • Posted February 15, 2010 at 1:52 AM
    • Permalink

    axel
    try the esupport site on sony.ca, i have found the updated drivers for all the versions of 32/64 bits of win 7.. hopes it works.

    • rotwhiler
    • Posted February 27, 2010 at 11:24 PM
    • Permalink

    Yes, it looks like Sony has posted Windows 7 drivers on the US site as well.

    • Nai
    • Posted May 11, 2010 at 5:53 PM
    • Permalink

    Thank you so much, rotwhiler.
    I had searched many websites to find the way to make all buttons work. I tried to upgrade Win7 from vista, but it took me so long and used a lot of space. So I decided to clean install and followed your instruction. It really works with my CR220E!!! All FN Keys, CAPTURE, AV Mode, and InstantON work now.
    Thanks again for sharing this story. 🙂

    • Tony
    • Posted July 2, 2010 at 8:03 AM
    • Permalink

    Could someone please extract it and share it, please? I’m repairing a Vaio vgn-cr220e for a friend of mine, and that is the only thing I’m missing! Yep, the guy never bothered to create recovery disks, and the HD is as dead as it can get…Please someone help!

    • Tony
    • Posted July 2, 2010 at 8:04 AM
    • Permalink

    Sorry, forgot…I meant InstantON lol

    • honey
    • Posted August 7, 2010 at 5:26 PM
    • Permalink

    hai,am updated my vgn-cs36mj vista 64 to windows 7 64,web cam capture button is not working please help me

    • Elemental
    • Posted September 3, 2010 at 7:40 PM
    • Permalink

    same as tony and jared, I had no recovery cds it was a last resort windows 7 reboot. I did all the extracting and upgrading until the camera… when i click the upgrade, it says its already up to date. but my computer search finds no vaio camera capture utility. Please Help!!! someone link us to recovery cd upload ><!!!

    • manvy
    • Posted May 24, 2011 at 8:42 AM
    • Permalink

    i download camera driver for my vaio vgn cr353 model with windows 7,but i cant find the icon,or please tel me how wil the camera works here in windows 7.

    • rotwhiler
    • Posted May 24, 2011 at 12:39 PM
    • Permalink

    manvy, the camera driver just enables the camera. You’ll have to use an application like gmail video chat or live messenger to see if it’s working. If you are referring to the camera button above the keyboard, that originally launched the built-in camera app that came with Vista. I never got that to work with windows 7.

    • Anonymous
    • Posted June 18, 2011 at 1:54 PM
    • Permalink

    You ROCK! Did my research as well googling for help and you had the most complete version. I have a VGN-120E with Win7 professional and now all the buttons are working including the camera capture and AV. Thanks a million!

    • ahmad
    • Posted July 7, 2011 at 2:46 PM
    • Permalink

    Hello , could any one help me with this , I have Sony vaio VGN-CR353 and I have tried a lot to setup my webcam for windows 7 prof 64 bit but I couldn’t i have been a month now and I am still trying to find it , plzzz help me , thanx for ur efforts .:)

    • rotwhiler
    • Posted July 7, 2011 at 5:12 PM
    • Permalink

    ahmad, I think your problem is that you’re running 64-bit Windows 7. As far as I can tell,Sony never produced a 64-bit webcam driver. That’s the main reason I’m using 32-bit Windows 7 on my CR laptop.

  3. Some provide glass lenses, while others use a extremely compressed clear plastic.


17 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] and others: I found a great post but for other model for sony that may work for you, read here: https://rotwhiler.wordpress.com/2009/07/26/windows-7-rc-on-sony-vaio-cr231e/ Tags: Sony VAIO […]

  2. By Sony vaio VGN-CR363 Drivers | Laptop Drivers on 12 Jul 2010 at 12:14 am

    […] For webacam utilities and others: I found a great post but for other model for sony that may work for you, read here: https://rotwhiler.wordpress.com/2009/07/26/windows-7-rc-on-sony-vaio-cr231e/ […]

  3. […] For webacam utilities and others: I found a great post but for other model for sony that may work for you, read here: https://rotwhiler.wordpress.com/2009/07/26/windows-7-rc-on-sony-vaio-cr231e/ […]

  4. […] For webacam utilities and others: I found a great post but for other model for sony that may work for you, read here: https://rotwhiler.wordpress.com/2009/07/26/windows-7-rc-on-sony-vaio-cr231e/ […]

  5. […] and others: I found a great post but for other model for sony that may work for you, read here: https://rotwhiler.wordpress.com/2009/07/26/windows-7-rc-on-sony-vaio-cr231e/ Tags: Sony VAIO […]

  6. By Sony vaio VGN-CR363 Drivers | download 8k on 18 May 2011 at 3:37 am

    […] and others: I found a great post but for other model for sony that may work for you, read here: https://rotwhiler.wordpress.com/2009/07/26/windows-7-rc-on-sony-vaio-cr231e/ Posts Related to Sony vaio VGN-CR363 DriversCompaq Preasrio C783TU DriversCompaq Preasrio C783TU […]

  7. By Sony vaio VGN-CR363 Drivers | download 8k on 18 May 2011 at 4:10 am

    […] and others: I found a great post but for other model for sony that may work for you, read here: https://rotwhiler.wordpress.com/2009/07/26/windows-7-rc-on-sony-vaio-cr231e/ Posts Related to Sony vaio VGN-CR363 DriversSony vaio VGN-CR363 DriversSony vaio VGN-CR363 […]

  8. By Sony vaio VGN-CR363 Drivers | download on 17 Jul 2011 at 12:59 am

    […] and others: I found a great post but for other model for sony that may work for you, read here: https://rotwhiler.wordpress.com/2009/07/26/windows-7-rc-on-sony-vaio-cr231e/ Posts Related to Sony vaio VGN-CR363 Drivers Sony vaio VGN-CR363 DriversSony vaio VGN-CR363 Windows […]

  9. […] and others: I found a great post but for other model for sony that may work for you, read here: https://rotwhiler.wordpress.com/2009/07/26/windows-7-rc-on-sony-vaio-cr231e/ Tags: Notebook · Sony Vaio · VGN-CR363 · Windows […]

  10. By Sony vaio VGN-CR363 Drivers | Driver update on 08 Nov 2011 at 12:39 am

    […] For webacam utilities and others: I found a great post but for other model for sony that may work for you, read here: https://rotwhiler.wordpress.com/2009/07/26/windows-7-rc-on-sony-vaio-cr231e/ […]

  11. […] and others:I found a great post but for other model for sony that may work for you, read here:https://rotwhiler.wordpress.com/2009/07/26/windows-7-rc-on-sony-vaio-cr231e/ This entry was posted in Sony and tagged Driver, Sony, vaio, VGNCR363, Windows by admin. […]

  12. […] For webacam utilities and others: Download […]

  13. […] and others: I found a great post but for other model for sony that may work for you, read here: https://rotwhiler.wordpress.com/2009/07/26/windows-7-rc-on-sony-vaio-cr231e/ Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Tags: Sony vaio VGN-CR363 […]

  14. […] and others:I found a great post but for other model for sony that may work for you, read here:https://rotwhiler.wordpress.com/2009/07/26/windows-7-rc-on-sony-vaio-cr231e/ This entry was posted in Sony and tagged driver, Sony, Vaio, VGNCR363, Windows by admin. […]

  15. […] and others:I found a great post but for other model for sony that may work for you, read here:https://rotwhiler.wordpress.com/2009/07/26/windows-7-rc-on-sony-vaio-cr231e/ This entry was posted in Sony on January 23, 2011 by […]

  16. […] For webacam utilities and others:I found a great post but for other model for sony that may work for you, read here:https://rotwhiler.wordpress.com/2009/07/26/windows-7-rc-on-sony-vaio-cr231e/ […]

  17. […] For webacam utilities and others:I found a great post but for other model for sony that may work for you, read here:https://rotwhiler.wordpress.com/2009/07/26/windows-7-rc-on-sony-vaio-cr231e/ […]

Leave a comment